• newzealand email contact usvisa@nzeta-visa.org

About the NZeTA

The New Zealand eTA is an Electronic Travel Authority for travelers who wish to visit New Zealand for short-term stays of up to 90 days from the date of arrival, with the exception of British nationals who can stay for a period of up to 6 months. The NZeTA is granted through an online application system. It was introduced to simplify visa processes for citizens of eligible countries who want to travel to and within New Zealand for short-term stays.

The NZeTA can be obtained by completing a simple and straightforward online application form. Applicants must provide their personal details, travel information and passport data. For those who are travelling for tourism purposes the payment will include the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL). Australian permanent residents are not required to pay the IVL.

eTA New Zealand Authorized Stay and Validity

The New Zealand eTA grants visitors a stay of up to ninety (90) days in New Zealand.

Travelers can apply for the New Zealand eTA at any time before their expected departure date. Most applications will be processed within 1 business day, however some applications may take longer to process, up to 3 business days. The NZeTA has a validity of 2 years from the moment of approval and can be used for multiple entries.

New Zealand eTA Application

Passport guidelines for the NZeTA

Applicants must have a valid passport, which must have a minimum validity of three (3) months beyond the expected date of departure. New Zealand eTA holders will be granted a 90-day stay at one of the designated ports of entry in New Zealand.

Visa waiver countries and territories

Austria Andorra Argentina Belgium Bulgaria Bahrain Brazil Brunei Cyprus Croatia
Czech Republic Canada Chile Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Greece Hungary
Hong Kong Ireland Italy Iceland Israel Japan Kuwait Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg
Liechtenstein Malta Macau Malaysia Mauritius Mexico Monaco Netherlands Norway Oman
Poland Portugal Qatar Romania Slovakia Singapore Slovenia Sweden San Marino Saudi Arabia
Spain Seychelles South Korea Switzerland Taiwan United Kingdom UAE United States Uruguay Vatican City

Transit visa waiver countries

Bahamas Bermuda Bolivia Colombia Costa Rica Ecuador Indonesia Kiribati Micronesia Marshall Islands
Nauru Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Solomon Islands Samoa Thailand
Tonga Tuvalu Vanuatu Venezuela